Tesla’s 2024 Filing Confirms $1.076 Billion in Digital Assets, Not 8,430 BTC or a $710 Million Gain

Daily Feed
Tesla’s 2024 Filing Confirms $1.076 Billion in Digital Assets, Not 8,430 BTC or a $710 Million Gain

A headline attributed to PrimeXBT says Tesla holds 8, 430 bitcoin, worth $960 million, for a $710 million paper gain. Tesla’s 2024 filing offers more recent financial context, but it does not confirm that BTC count or those headline figures.

  • Tesla reported $1.076 billion in digital assets at fair value on Dec. 31, 2024.
  • The filing lists a $184 million cost basis but does not disclose a BTC quantity.
  • The PrimeXBT claim gives no verifiable measurement date or calculation method.

What Tesla’s filing says

Tesla’s 2024 Form 10-K, filed on Jan. 30, 2025, reports that the company’s digital assets had a fair value of $1.076 billion and a cost basis of $184 million as of Dec. 31, 2024. The filing says the assets consisted primarily of bitcoin. It does not state how many BTC Tesla held.

The difference between the reported fair value and cost basis is $892 million. That figure comes from Tesla’s year-end numbers. It does not confirm the $710 million gain in the PrimeXBT headline. The figures may use different dates or calculations, but the PrimeXBT claim specifies neither.

Tesla adopted fair-value accounting for digital assets in 2024. Under this approach, reported values can reflect market-price movements. The year-end filing shows Tesla’s digital-asset value and cost basis on a specific date. It cannot establish the company’s holdings after that date or verify a separate BTC count.

Checking the headline’s math

The PrimeXBT headline gives no verifiable publication date, valuation date, cited market price, or method for calculating the gain. The page information available does not establish its supporting text or underlying calculation.

The arithmetic provides a check, not proof: $960 million divided by 8, 430 BTC implies a price of about $113, 879 per bitcoin. The headline does not say when that price applied. The implied price also does not verify the BTC quantity or valuation.

If both headline figures are accurate and “gain” means market value minus cost, they imply a cost basis of about $250 million. That is an inference from the claim, not a cost figure Tesla disclosed. A paper gain generally means an increase in estimated value that has not been realized through a sale. It is not cash profit, and it can change as bitcoin’s price moves.

Key questions and answers

  • How much bitcoin does Tesla hold?

    The headline claims 8, 430 BTC, but Tesla’s 2024 filing does not disclose a BTC quantity, and the claim’s measurement date is unclear. A separate report on Tesla and SpaceX’s bitcoin holdings covers corporate holdings but does not verify this specific claim.

  • What does Tesla’s 2024 filing confirm?

    As of Dec. 31, 2024, Tesla reported $1.076 billion in digital assets at fair value and a $184 million cost basis. The filing says the assets consisted primarily of bitcoin.

  • Is the $710 million gain verified?

    No. The headline gives no date or calculation method. Tesla’s year-end figures show an $892 million difference between fair value and cost basis, but that does not establish what the headline’s figure measures.

To verify the claims of 8, 430 BTC and $960 million, readers need a dated disclosure of Tesla’s bitcoin quantity and the market price used. Verifying the $710 million gain also requires its cost basis and accounting method. Tesla’s later filing provides a subsequent point of reference, but the headline still needs a dated BTC quantity and valuation method.

Share this article

Powered by ADBYTES

Advertise smarter.

Adbytes.Media is a transparent advertising network where advertisers reach real audiences and publishers, affiliates & everyday members earn ADBYTES tokens. Join the community and start earning today.

Back to Blog