Kraken parent Payward has agreed to acquire Saldo, a European financial-services business with existing deposit, lending and payment operations. The deal could give Payward a base for expanding into traditional banking, but Kraken customers won’t get access to new services right away.
- Payward expects the deal to close in 2027, subject to regulatory approval and other conditions.
- Saldo offers deposits, lending and payment products in four European markets.
- Payward has not disclosed the purchase price or a product-launch timetable.
- The acquisition does not itself grant a new banking license.
What Payward is acquiring
Payward announced the definitive agreement on October 14, though it did not specify the year. The proposed acquisition is for Finland-based Saldo Finance Oy, the company behind Saldo Bank UAB, a specialized bank licensed in Lithuania.
According to Payward, Saldo offers retail term deposits in Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany. Consumers can get loans in Lithuania, Finland and Sweden, while business lending is available in Lithuania and Finland. Saldo’s credit card has launched in Finland, and a launch in Sweden is expected in 2027. Its operations in Lithuania were part of a wider expansion plan.
Saldo also partners with fintech companies in Finland and Germany. Those companies use Saldo’s lending infrastructure to offer financing through their own services. The model is often called banking-as-a-service: a financial provider supplies the underlying infrastructure, while another business offers the product to its customers.
Payward says it plans to build on Saldo’s operations with interest-bearing deposits, secured and unsecured business loans, consumer credit and payment cards. It has also outlined plans for euro payments through SEPA (the Single Euro Payments Area), a framework of payment schemes for euro transfers between participating financial institutions.
These are proposed services, not a launch schedule. Payward has not said which countries would get each product first or when Kraken customers might qualify. Regulatory approvals and integration work are still needed.
A license is a starting point, not a shortcut
Saldo’s banking license predates the acquisition. The company said it received a specialized banking license from the European Central Bank in October 2021 and identifies the Bank of Lithuania as its regulator. The proposed deal does not itself give Payward a new banking license. Saldo is a licensed bank in Lithuania.
The distinction matters. An existing bank can bring operating systems and financial permissions that would take time to build from scratch. But a license for one activity does not authorize every other activity. An acquisition also doesn’t automatically make a bank’s existing products available to the buyer’s customers in every market.
Payward co-CEO Arjun Sethi described the banking effort as an existing company priority:
“Payward Banking is not a new ambition.”
Saldo Bank president Jarkko Mäensivu stressed that getting a license is only part of the job:
“A banking license is only as valuable as what you build on top of it.”
The comments point to both the opportunity and the challenge. Payward is acquiring an operating financial-services business, but connecting it to a global crypto platform will still take regulatory, technical and operational work. The purchase price has not been disclosed. Payward expects the transaction to close during 2027, subject to regulatory approval and customary closing conditions.
How the deal fits Payward’s wider plans
Payward is pursuing other regulated financial services, but those are separate from Saldo’s European deposit and lending business. The company has applied to establish Payward National Trust Company in the United States. The proposed trust company would focus on digital-asset custody and fiduciary services. Its application is pending and separate from the Saldo acquisition.
Keep the distinction clear: a proposed trust company for crypto custody is not a consumer banking license, and Saldo’s existing banking operations do not automatically authorize every crypto service. Financial permissions are specific, not a universal “regulated” stamp.
Key questions about the Payward, Saldo deal
-
When is the acquisition expected to close?
Payward expects it to close during 2027, subject to regulatory approval and customary closing conditions. No specific date has been announced.
-
What services could Payward add?
Payward has proposed deposits, business and consumer lending, payment cards and euro payment services using Saldo’s infrastructure. It has not disclosed launch dates or a country-by-country rollout plan.
-
Where does Saldo currently operate?
Payward names Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany. The products available vary by country.
-
Will Kraken customers get access to Saldo services?
Payward has not said when services might reach Kraken customers, which countries would be included or what eligibility rules would apply.
-
Is Payward’s U.S. trust-company application part of the acquisition?
No. It is a separate, pending proposal focused on digital-asset custody and fiduciary services.
Saldo gives Payward a practical base for expanding beyond crypto trading into familiar financial services. Whether customers get a useful, accessible offering will depend less on the headline value of a banking license than on the harder work of winning approvals, integrating systems and delivering the services.